PENNSYLVANIA CONGRESSIONAL APPORTIONMENT

(Act of the General Assembly approved December 22, 1951.)

To apportion the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania into Congressional districts.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

SECTION 1. For the purpose of electing representatives of the people of Pennsylvania to serve in the House of Representatives in the Congress of the United States, this Commonwealth shall be divided into thirty (30) districts, which shall have one Congressman each, as follows:

The First District shall consist of the first, second, third, fourth, twenty-sixth, thirtieth, thirty-sixth, thirty-ninth and forty-eighth wards of the city of Philadelphia.

The Second District shall consist of the twentyseventh, thirty-fourth, fortieth, forty-fourth, fortysixth, fifty-first and fifty-second wards of the city of Philadelphia.

The Third District shall consist of the fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth, thirteenth, fourteenth, fifteenth, sixteenth, seventeenth, eighteenth, nineteenth, twentieth, twenty-fifth, thirty-first and forty-fifth wards of the City of Philadelphia.

The Fourth District shall consist of the twentyfourth, twenty-eighth, twenty-ninth, thirty-second, thirty-seventh, thirty-eighth and forty-seventh wards of the city of Philadelphia.

¹**The Fifth District** shall consist of the twentythird, thirty-third, thirty-fifth, forty-first and forty-third wards of the city of Philadelphia.

²**The Sixth District** shall consist of the twenty-first, twenty-second, forty-second, forty-ninth and fiftieth wards of the city of Philadelphia.

The Seventh District shall consist of the county of Delaware.

The Eighth District shall consist of the counties of Bucks and Lehigh.

The Ninth District shall consist of the counties of Lancaster and Chester.

The Tenth District shall consist of the counties of Lackawanna, Wyoming, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Wavne and Pike.

The Eleventh District shall consist of the county of Luzerne.

The Twelfth District shall consist of the counties of Schuylkill and Northumberland.

The Thirteenth District shall consist of the county of Montgomery.

The Fourteenth District shall consist of the county of Berks.

The Fifteenth District shall consist of the counties of Northampton, Carbon, and Monroe.

The Sixteenth District shall consist of the counties of Lebanon, Dauphin, Perry and Juniata.

The Seventeeth District shall consist of the counties of Lycoming, Columbia, Montour, Clinton, Cameron, Potter, Tioga and Bradford.

The Eighteenth District shall consist of the counties of Union, Snyder, Mifflin, Huntingdon, Fulton, Franklin, Bedford and Somerset.

The Nineteenth District shall consist of the counties of York, Adams and Cumberland.

The Twentieth District shall consist of the counties of Blair, Centre and Clearfield.

The Twenty-first District shall consist of the county of Westmoreland.

The Twenty-second District shall consist of the counties of Cambria, Indiana and Armstrong.

The Twenty-third District shall consist of the counties of Jefferson, Clarion, Venango, Forest, Elk, McKean and Warren.

The Twenty-fourth District shall consist of the counties of Erie, Crawford and Mercer.

The Twenty-fifth District shall consist of the counties of Butler, Lawrence and Beaver.

The Twenty-sixth District shall consist of the counties of Greene, Washington and Fayette.

The Twenty-seventh District shall consist of the nineteenth, twentieth, twenty-eighth, twenty-ninth, thirtieth and thirty-second wards of the city of Pittsburgh, the city of Clairton, the boroughs of Baldwin, Bethel, Brentwood, Bridgeville, Carnegie, Castle Shannon, Coraopolis, Crafton, Dormont, Green Tree, Heidelberg, Ingram, Jefferson, Mount Oliver, McKees Rocks, Oakdale, Rosslyn Farms, Thornburg, West Elizabeth, Whitehall, part of McDonald borough in Allegheny County, and Pleasant Hills, and the townships of Baldwin, Collier, Crescent, Findlay, Kennedy, Mount Lebanon, Moon, Neville, North Fayette, Robinson, Scott, Snowden, South Fayette, Upper Saint Clair and Stowe, all in the county of Allegheny.

The Twenty-eighth District shall consist of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth, thirteenth, fourteenth, twenty-second, twenty-third and twenty-fourth wards of the city of Pittsburgh.

The Twenty-ninth District shall consist of the twenty-first, twenty-fifth, twenty-sixth and twenty-seventh wards of the city of Pittsburgh, the boroughs of Aspinwall, Avalon, Bellevue, Ben Avon, Ben Avon Heights, Blawnox, Brackenridge, Bradford Woods, Cheswick, Churchill, Edgewood, Edgeworth, Emsworth, Etna, Fox Chapel, Glenfield, Haysville, Leetsdale, Millvale, Oakmont, Osborne, Sewickley, Sewickley Heights, Sharpsburg, Springdale, Tarentum, Verona, West View and Wilkinsburg, and the townships of Aleppo, East Deer, Fawn, Franklin, Erazer, Hampton, Harrison, Harmar, Indiana, Kilbuck, Leet, Marshall, McCandless, O'Hara, Ohio, Penn, Pine, Plum, Reserve, Richland, Ross, Sewickley, Sewickley Heights, Shaler, Springdale and West Deer, all in the county of Allegheny.

The Thirtieth District shall consist of the fifteenth, sixteenth, seventeenth, eighteenth and thirty-first wards of the city of Pittsburgh, the cities of Duquesne and McKeesport, the boroughs

¹Also includes the fifty-third, fifty-fourth, fifty-fifth, fifty-sixth, fifty-seventh and fifty-eighth wards created out of the thirty-fifth ward in 1957.

² Also includes the fifty-ninth ward, created out of the twenty-second ward in 1959.

of Braddock, Braddock Hills, Chalfant, Dravos-burg, East Pittsburgh, East McKeesport, Eden Park, Elizabeth, Forest Hills, Classport, Homestead, Liberty, Monroeville, Munhall, North Braddock, Pitcairn, Port Vue, Rankin, Swissvale, Turtle Creek, Versailles, Wall, Whitaker, West Homestead, West Mifflin, Wilmerding, Trafford (part of which is in Allegheny County) and White Oak, and the townships of Elizabeth, Forward, Lincoln, North Versailles, South Versailles and Wilkins, all in the county of Allegheny.

SECTION 2. The first election under this act shall be held at the primary election in the year one thousand nine hundred fifty-two. The members of Congress now in office shall

continue in such office until the expiration of their respective terms.

Vacancies now existing or happening after the passage of this act, and before the com-mencement of the terms of the members elected at the election of one thousand nine hundred fifty-two, shall be filled for the unexpired terms in the manner now provided by law.

SECTION 3. The act, approved the eighth day of May, one thousand nine hundred forty-three (Pamphlet Laws 256), entitled "An act to apportion the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania into congressional districts," is hereby repealed. All other acts and parts of acts inconsistent herewith are hereby repealed.